South Dakota American Legion Auxiliary

 

Department Chairmen 2016 - 2017

AMERICANISM Jacqueline Omland
2611 13TH Avenue SE, Aberdeen, SD 57401 605-228-1827
Email: jacqueline.omland@northern.edu
*Develop an Americanism program in your Unit or School
*Sponsor an Americanism Essay & Poem Contest

AUXILIARY EMERGENCY FUND Joyce Smith
PO Box 182, Chester, SD 57016 605-489-2480
Email: rjsmith@itctel.com
*Educate members on emergency financial aid and/or educational assistance available in crisis situations

 CHILDREN & YOUTH Jeannine Loesch
1732 Northstar Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501 605-224-4512
Email: dakotabarbers@qwestoffice.net
*Donations to Children & Youth, Scholarships & Child Welfare
*Promote Youth Hero / Good Deed Awards


COMMUNITY SERVICE Mary Jo Stier
PO Box 224, Onida, SD 57564 605-222-3857
Email: mary.stier@k12.sd.us 605-258-2685
*Assist with or sponsor a Community Service Project
*Participate in Welcome Home and Send Off Ceremonies


CONSTITUTION & BY LAWS Theresa Maeschen
417 E 10TH Avenue, Mitchell, SD 57301 605-996-2845
Email: Maeschen2008@mit.midco.net 
*Inform members of the importance of policies & procedures
*Remind units to update their Constitution and Bylaws


EDUCATION Dee Preston
14039 SD HWY 40, Hermosa, SD 57744 605-255-4494
Email: dpreston@mt-rushmore.net 
 605-545-2460
*Promote and encourage quality education for all citizens
*SCHOLARSHIP: 2-$500 College Scholarships / 2-$500 Vocational Scholarship / 1-$300 Senior Scholarship / 1-$300 Junior Scholarship / 1-$400 Senior Auxiliary Member Scholarship


FINANCE Kathy Evenson
47594 257TH Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104 605-357-8349
Email: paevenson@aol.com
*Oversee the financial policies and preparation of annual budget

GIRLS STATE Cheryl Hovorka
816 Park Street, Yankton, SD 57078 605-665-5635
Email: cheryl.hovorka@usd.edu
*Provide a learning-by-doing experience in the workings of government
*Encourage membership in the ALA


 JUNIOR ACTIVITIES Sharon Teunissen
7908 W. Alexandra Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57106 605-274-3320 Email: sharriekay@outlook.com 605-212-1381
*Involve and educate young Auxiliary members on the activities and purposes of the organization
*Support or start a Junior group


 LEADERSHIP Linda Rae Placek
20076 Millennium Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501 605-280-6601
Email: linda_rae_@hotmail.com
*Develop & prepare leaders and mentor members
*Sponsor a Leadership Training Course


 LEGIONETTE Micheline Nelson
19650 Mossing Lane, Spearfish, SD 57783 605-645-1346
Email: micheline.nelson@live.com
*By Mail $5.00 / Email $2.00
*Send news items to the Legionette Editor


 LEGISLATIVE Jean Hunhoff
2511 Mulligan Drive, Yankton, SD 57078 605-660-5619
Email: DJHunhoff@iw.net
*Assist ALA members in supporting the legislative agenda of the American Legion

MEMBERSHIP Barb Vetter
101 7TH Street E., Cresbard, SD 57435 605-380-3966
Email: barb.vetter@venturecomm.net
National Theme: “ENHANCE THE MEMBER EXPERIENCE”
National Milestones:
“Praise to all”- Dept. Officers and Chairmen who have dues paid by 9/1/16
“Make a Difference Day” – Praise your members and units (10/22/16)
“Put your Heart into it!” – 85% by VALENTINES DAY (2/14/17)
“Praise for a job well done!” – 95% 30 days prior to National Convention
Dept. Theme: “Embracing Membership…
Helping Us Grow Stronger (HUGS)”


 MUSIC Nancy Wallin
318 Custer Street, Belle Fourche, SD 57717 605-641-7043
Email: nancy.wallin@ymail.com
* Encourage units to have music during meetings
* Observe music week

NATIONAL SECURITY Jane Benzel
27949 Horse Camp Road, Hot Springs, SD 57747 605-745-6375
Email: jane.sdala@gmail.com 605-890-1154
*Promote a strong national defense by supporting the military & families


 PAST PRESIDENT’S PARLEY Carol Edwards
20616 Maitland Road, Lead, SD 57754 605-578-3435
Email: auxcarol@wildblue.net 605-645-3142
*Legionette of the Year


 POPPY Sue Frantzic
22756 Pickarts Lane, Box Elder, SD 57719 605-431-4513
Email: frantzic@nemont.net
*Honor veterans for their service by promoting and educating people about the Poppy and the financial benefits of their distribution
*Participate in Poppy centerpiece/corsage contest

PUBLIC RELATIONS Debra MacDonald
24195 Alkan Lane, Hermosa, SD 57744 605-484-0904
Email: macdonalddebra94@gmail.com
*To promote publicity of ALA activities and programs


SCRAPBOOK Judy Lindhorst
15241 357TH Avenue, Wecota, SD 57438 605-324-3673
Email: lindjudy@yahoo.com
*Send photos!!! Please..


 VETERANS AFFAIRS & REHABILITATION Elvira Moen
309 6TH Street Circle SW, Watertown, SD 57201 605-881-5914
Email: eastpoint@iw.net 605-886-9873
*Enhance the lives of veterans, military and their families
*Support rehabilitation programs